BLOGGER TEMPLATES AND TWITTER BACKGROUNDS »

Friday, April 30, 2010

Good Morning to all my followers!
I'd like to say that I really appreciate all of you that take the time to read my blog... and even more so for those who take the time to comment! I love you all! Your opinions and comments really make my day!

Im hopeing to get some new followers today!
And remember I always follow back!!
-Misty

”Friday

Join the FRIDAY FOLLOW!!
**and remember to link up!**

Thursday, April 29, 2010

This is not my writing... Copied from Bless Their Hearts MomThis is very important!
...................................................................................


Darling daughter hasn't started school yet, but we've already had 2 parent meetings! I wasn't sure if I would really learn anything at the first one, but having been thru I can roundly say EVERY parent at daughter's school should have to attend the Technology Awareness Meeting! I'm going to condense the lecture that the District IT Director gave us, and give you highlights to think about, because I think they're SUPER important. So PLEASE read this whole post and free free to pass it on to your friends and family!

We all want to protect our kids.

We all think we're pretty technology savvy- after all you got on the internet, found my site, signed up via reader or subscription, have entered contests, joined Twitter and even Tweeted. You may have a program on your computer to keep your child from restricted internet sites, you limit what your kids can watch on TV (thank you parental controls) and you've given your kids a cell phone so they can call you if there's an emergency.

You feel technologically sound and good right?

How about if I tell you that you made the BIGGEST mistake of all and you didn't even realize it????

WHAT you ask?

What type of internet filter program do you have on that cell phone you gave your child? That's right, most cell phones these days access the internet thru a program on the cell phone. Guess what? NO FILTERS. That's right, you can protect your kids from porn and how to build a pipe bomb on the internet, but all they have to do is go in the backyard, pull out their cell phone and waala. They have the instructions and are looking at images you would blush out.

Stunned? There's more. Does your child have a thumb drive that can go into their pocket/on their key ring? Guess what? Little Johnny can download a FILTER FREE internet browser from the friend's computer, put it on the thumb drive and put in on their computer at any time. Because it's running off the thumb driver, your computer's filter program WON"T STOP IT.

Saying oh oh yet? Wait- how many of your kids computers have integrated webcams and mics? How many laptops with them are left on the desk and on all the time? Did you know a hacker, or even someone your child trusts, could upload a hacked file onto your child's computer in mere SECONDS from a thumb drive and go back to their house and remotely control the laptop camera and mic and take PICTURES of you teenage daughter in her room?

Oh one last thing- did you know that if Facebook was a country it would be the THIRD largest in the world, behind China and India? AND it's growing daily? Out of that LARGE country, how many perverts so you think are out there? How many do you think poss as young kids? Now think about the photos you upload to your Facebook page for grandma to see across the country. Are they in a closed group so only certain people can see them, or can those perverts in that LARGE country find them and stalk/kidnap your child? (oh and Facebook is announcing today that they will be releasing MORE private info as they change their system around- not good for kids!)

ok- take a minute, breathe and get something to drink (water, stiff drink, whatever)-then come back.

Understand that technology is NOT bad, it is HOW it is USED that is BAD. And kids are kids- they will do stupid foolish things JUST BECAUSE.

With the rash on cyber bullying you have to stop and think. If your child takes a picture of another child with their camera phone and uploads it to the internet on their phone and spreads evil rumors that are false, in an attempt to harm the other child, they are GUILTY or terrorism and harassment, not to mention bullying, in MOST states. Does a 2nd grader REALLY need a cell phone with a camera AND the internet? Police are arresting kids as young as 4th and 5th grade for blackmailing/terrorizing their classmates for SEX via the use of cell phones and computers. YES REALLY. It's not just teens anymore folks.

You trust your child, but can you trust everyone they know? You need to learn what is out there, so you CAN protect your kids and teach them about consequences of simple technological actions. Once illicit pictures of your teen are out on the web, they can't be brought back. The pictures will HAUNT them for a very long time- future employers and dates will Google them and come up with the photos. Will they get the job they want, most likely NO. Get to date the nice guy? Probably not if he's seen a questionable photo!

It's a scary world out there and it's getting worse. Think about some of the things I've mentioned and talk to your kids about them, and maybe you need to make some changes....I hope this has given you some foro for thought............Oh and cover those camera and mics when NOT in use!

Updating 4/29

HI! I been away for a day... but I been very busy! I'm composing reviews for all my readers. I have decided that I absolutely love trying new products and want to share my opinion with the world! Right now I'm gearing towards Hand-made. And boy have I found some beautiful creations! And many wonderful Artists that are allowing me to review there art and share with you there talent and creations! Coming soon... many many new amazing talented artists!

OK, so other than that I'm doing wonderful. Yea, bills are still bills, and I could complain about those till I'm blue in the face. Damn things won't pay themselves!! no matter how much i plead! LOL! Skie is doing wonderful! She has earned one "set" of toys back. I gave her her baby dolls with the crib, stroller and accessories. She wasn't pleased with that, but I told her she has to be grateful for what she has been given. And her attitude would not be tolerated. She was taught to be grateful and not to be greedy. But I think being around other children all the time has made a bad impression on her. So, I will just try much harder to keep her respectful and grateful for what she has.

Nick is doing great in school. He only has 5 more weeks! Then hopefully he gets signed onto a good company! yay! Yesterday we found out his dad got rushed to the VA hospital in Syracuse because he couldn't walk and had pain in his abdomen and groin area. The doctors are baffled as to what is causing his problems. He is 76 years old and has had heart surgery recently. So they are thinking it could be an aneurysm pushing on some nerves. We just have to wait and see what happens today. Please put him in your prayers or send positive thoughts for him.

Well, I'm going to get some cleaning done, then off for my walk.
Bye!
-Misty

Tuesday, April 27, 2010


Kids Best Apps if giving away an Apple Ipad!
I can't tell you how bad I want one of these.
Wish me luck.
This would make my mothers day just amazing! I would probably scream if I won!
-Misty



Things are going good. Nicks unemployment got screwed up but im trying to wait patiently for it to be fixed so i can pay the water bill.


Skie was rather dissapointed yesterday. I took all her toys and her TV. Only things in her room are her bed and dresser and her clothes. and a few stuffed animals. She decided it would be a great idea to shuve her toys under her bed when told to clean her room. I was extermly P*ssed! So I took the frame to her bed out so now her boxspring and mattress are sitting on the floor. She has to earn back 1 toy at a time. She will learn responsibility for her belongings. Taking care of the toys we have given her.


Anyways... The weather is so crapy today. Its snowing!!

And here is a beautiful sunrise from last week....

Hope you enjoy the pictures!

-Misty

Monday, April 26, 2010

Monday Minute






1 - What drugs have you done in your life? I did pot when i was 16

2 - A/S/L? 25/F/NY


3 - Do you pick your nose? Sure do! Damn boogers won't come out by themselves. Usualy I use a q'tip. Dont worry I only do it in the batheroom and wash my hands!


4 - What's your favorite childhood cartoon? Loony Toons

5 - List the URL, of what you believe to be the best blog post you've ever done:
EduShape from CSN!

How about a quote about a minute? “For every minute you are angry you lose sixty seconds of happiness.”

Saturday, April 24, 2010

FashionPlaytes girls custom clothing - www.fashionplaytes.com
Cute clothes! Take a peek!


sponsored like
Misty M VanEpps's profile on MyLikes

K'NEX Review and HUGE Giveaway
Creativity for Kids GIVEAWAY!!

http://blesstheirheartsmom.blogspot.com/2010/04/ew-childrens-book-reviewgiveaway-camera.html

Mazeways and EcoMazes by Roxie Munro - Book Review & Giveaway
Review and Giveaway - Out of the Box Games- 1 winner Ends 4/25


$100 Walmart Gift card Giveaway End 5/10

Scholastic Launches new Harry Potter Website & a Giveaway


Seventh Generation Disinfecting Spray Cleaners and Wipes - Review & Giveaway

Friday, April 23, 2010

Well, while I was so down in the dumps yesterday, today there appears to be hope, a light at the end of this dark tunnel. Well today when I asked husband to go get the mail he comes back with 3 envelopes, 2 of them are coupons, and the other was a check from social services for the time I babysat my neighbors 3 kids. In those two weeks I made $586!! I was so relieved I screamed I was so happy to pay the bills! I payed the land lord the remanding $300 we owed him for this month, and I paid the electric $200! And as a treat to my husband and I we went out to eat. nothing fancy, just a buffet. But it felt good. Just to eat.. not worrying about where the money could have gone instead. Now because of that extra money we got I think we will make it through the next month OK. I can't even explain how relieved I am!
Well, I need to get in the kitchen and clean up. I been wanting to make a Caramel Apple Crumb Cake for the last 3 days. Maybe I will get it done tonight... or tomorrow. lol.
bye!!
-Misty

PS. I bought 5 one dollare lottery tickets today and won $7 on one! yay!! just my lucky day!

ThinkGeek - www.thinkgeek.com
Who doesn't love new electronics?!

sponsored like
Misty M VanEpps's profile on MyLikes

Thursday, April 22, 2010

OK These ones are a lot more cute! Here is the picture.

Are they cool or what? I had fun doing these. The first cookies I did turned out so ugly. The icing was the wrong consistency. And I got horrible colors! I ended up with a neon orange and purple wannabe flowers. They were horrible! But these are much better. And Skie's teacher loved them! AAAH, next is Mothers Day. I think I will make individual mothers day cookies for each kid to give to there mom... what an idea... What do you think?
Anyways, this hasn't been a great day. I been way emotional and feeling completely lost as to what to do. We have so many bills and not enough money. We don't have the extra things everyone else has! Just normal, Rent, Water, Electric, Insurance, Phone, and of course gas. We bairly have enough money to cover the rent. My electric is going to be shut off. We already got two heap payments for the year. Now I'm not sure what we will do. What can I do? I haven't got the money for the bill. I wish there was some miracle.. something that could shine a light and show me the answer. I'm lost.
My daughter was so sweet today. I was having a rough day and had to separate myself and go to my room to cry. My husband was on the sofa and he heard clanking of dishes in the kitchen, he comes out and Skie is trying to do the dishes. Then while he is in the kitchen he hears scrapping in the office. She was then trying to clean the litter box! She was trying so hard to help out. When i came out of my room she told me what she had done, and nick explained it. All i could do was hug her and cry some more. She is a great daughter.
Well, I guess I will leave it at that for now.
-Misty

Wednesday, April 21, 2010








I'm so excited I had the opportunity to review Edushape Jumbo Numbers! CSN kindly supplied a set of numbers zero through nine! Including a plus, minus, division, multiply and equal sign! And shipping was super fast!
When these arrived my daughter was at school. I knew just what I wanted to do when she got home. We sat on the living room floor to see what we could do with these numbers. We started out with some basic math. Now remember my daughter is 5 and in Kindergarten. She had trouble doing simple math. So We started with 1+2=? and she didn't know what was going on. So I explained to her with my fingers. 1 finger on my right hand and 2 fingers on my left. And if she counted all the fingers I had up she would get the answer to 1+2. Oh, was she thrilled! We continued with placing numbers and making addition problems and she had trouble with quite a few as i knew she would. But she learned a lot with this visual aid. I think her teacher is going to be very impressed. Tomorrow we will continue to work with addition.




Here are some photo's I took of Skie playing with the Edushape Jumbo Numbers:










The only thing I would like with these jumbo numbers is maybe more than just one of each number. This is because when you do math most addition and multiplication results in a number that is two digits. Therefore you would need jumbo numbers to make the answer. But then again I guess it's not necessary that you make the answer.

There are other uses for these fun jumbo numbers. You can use them to trace. Which i think would be great if you are making a poster or a big sign. Also you can use them to paint! Kind of like a stamp! Pretty cool I think!

These Jumbo numbers are Safe, Non-toxic, Colorful and Colorfast, Educational and Fun, and soft yet durable. I highly recommend these numbers for school aged children or even for use in classrooms. I think the bright colors and the size of the numbers will make for a better more exciting visual when it comes to learning numbers and simple math.
I'm concerned with how much time children sit in front of
Entertainment Centers that hold not only the TV but also game systems. I'm sure that the bright colors created on the screen are very appealing but as parents we need to control how much time is spent sitting on there buts rather than being active and learning some fun new games. I think that these jumbo numbers could make some fun games. And the bright colors and the size of these numbers will keep them interested. It's not always the TV that needs to keep them entertained.

Here is a little tid bit about the creator of EDUSHAPE:
Edushape's products are engineered for optimum creative and developmental stimulation for children ranging from infant to toddler in age. Established in 1983, Edushape LTD., is a leading manufacturer of educational toys and games for toddlers to second graders. During 1999 Edushape entered into a new phase of developing unique and exciting new products for infants and toddlers under the age of 3. This new and enhanced section is based on Edushape's unique, specialized materials. As always, these products have been carefully developed, manufactured and selected by a team of professional educators and marketers.

Thank you to Jamie over at CSN for allowing me to provide this Review to my wonderful readers!

I was not paid in any form to do this review. I contacted CSN to offer this review. In return I was supplied with a set of EduShape Jumbo Numbers to complete this review. This is my honest opinion from my experience with these fun numbers!

Ugly Cookies!!

Ya, so I made ugly sugar cookies. I intended to make these really cute Earth Day cookies for my daughter's class. Well, they turned out hideous. I threw them away! I'm now starting a new batch of cookies at 9:30pm the night before they are going to school! yep.... I'm insane. But I couldn't bare to send the ugly cookies to school with skie. Anyways, so I'm going to be awake till the weeee hours of the night. wish me luck for pretty cookies.
Nothing much happened today. I went for a walk. Oh, I took a nap after my daughter went to school. It felt so good!! I slept 2 hours. yay! My husband is home tonight and will be here till Sunday!! yay! He has Dr. appointment tomorrow. He would drive back to school tomorrow after his appointment but we haven't got the gas for him to be driving back to school for one day of class then to drive back home for the weekend. So he is staying here till Sunday. And because we can't afford the gas for him to be coming home every weekend he will now be home every other weekend. As of right now its been costing us around $120-$180 a month in gas! yea... we can't do it anymore. The water bill is past due, The electric company wants to turn the electric off! and the insurance is due next month. I'm lost as to where this money is going to come from. I'm scared and depressed! I just don't know.
Guess I will get back to my cookies. Good night!
-Misty

Tuesday, April 20, 2010

This is the homemade Red Velvet Cake I made today. What do ya think?
I should have made a different frosting.. maybe a cream cheese. The one on it is really fluffy so it didnt hold up well between the layers. A lesson learned.
I think im in a cake kick right now. I also made cookies today, they are for Skie's class on earth day! Im going to decorate them all purtty tomorrow while she is at school. And of course will post some pictures!
ok, be back soon!!
-Misty


Every year Millions of people decide in January what it is that they will do in the following year to improve themselves in many area's of there lives. In return these goals make them much happier when they succeed. Some of these goals can feel overwhelming and even daunting. Losing weight is a major goal on most people's lists, but it is a completely reachable goal through hard work and dedication. Just the same with many other goals such as education, volunteering, and doing more of what makes you happy and makes you feel more complete.

TwitterMoms and Tropicana Trop50 have teamed and created a "Spring Renewal" blogging program. This entails you to blog 10 little things that lead to a happier, healthier you! What is it you think you would like to accomplish that would lead to making you happier? Now, will it also make you healthier? You know that if you add exercise into your everyday routine you automatically feel happier. When you exercise there is a chemical released called endorphins that alleviates feelings of depression and anxiety. That alone is enough of a benefit for me to get into a routine that includes keeping active and keeping me happy!

Look what exercise alone can do for you:
1. helps the circulatory system deliver oxygen and nutrients around the body
2. helps the removal of toxins and waste products from your body
3. improves the condition of your skin
4. reduces the rate of bone loss, the risk of heart disease, hypertension (high blood pressure) and diabetes
5. alleviates feelings of depression and anxiety
6. controls weight
7. builds and maintain strong and healthy bones, muscles and joints.


Well 10 things that will lead to a happier, healthier me include the following:
1. Walking around my village for an hour, 5 days a week.
2. Eating better and making healthier choices.
3. Read more. Maybe a new book every month!
4. Do what makes me happy; I enjoy baking and cooking for others.
5. Give back to my community. Find programs that I can volunteer my time.
6. Get more involved with my daughters school.
7. Complete my goals set for the new year. These include getting my licence so I can be more independent. And losing 50 pounds so I can be healthier.
8. Going back to school. Taking classes online to get my GED! And then pursuing a culinary arts degree.
9. Spending more time with my daughter and devoting my attention to only her.
10. Keeping in touch with friends and family! I'm terrible at this, and definitely need to improve for a healthier relationship with my family.

So, there you have it. The 10 things that will lead to a happier, healthier me!
Why don't you take advantage of this Spring Renewal program and post the 10 things that will lead to a happier, healthier you. Also here is a Tropicana code for 1 point for your juicy rewards program: TWMOM-READR This code is worth $5 in savings! Enjoy!

“This one-time use code is valid for new accounts ONLY. Must be entered within 6 hours of creating your account. Limit one new account bonus code per new account. All accounts must be created and all codes entered by May 7, 2010 at 11:59 PM EST.”

“I wrote this blog post while participating in the TwitterMoms and Tropicana Trop50 blogging program to be eligible to win 6 free Juicy Rewards points and a $30 gift card. For more information on how you can participate, click here.”

Im gonng go for my walk after Skie is off to school. Then probably check mail. Come home and Chill on the sofa for a bit. And then im making a RED VELVET CAKE! yep... so yummy. oh, and its gonna be garnished with crushed pecans! ooh ooh yummmmmy! Pictures will of course follow later today!
I think we got up to early. Normaly it takes my daughter a while to get ready for school, so we get up an hour and a half before she has to get on the bus. Well, she was done getting shower, eating, dressing, hair done, and shoes on within half an hour! ya, so now she is sitting in front of TV watchin curious george! Gotta love that darn monkey!
Today is Day #5 for Clomid. Last night I had some joint pain in my right hip, knee and ankle. I'm not sure it was related to the clomid..I probably strained myself yesterday. Anyways, day five is the last day of taking the clomid. Im hopeing it does the job! We will know a week from Friday when I am supposed to ovulate. Wish us luck!!
-Misty

Monday, April 19, 2010

Today wasn't as great as yesterday but wasnt as bad as friday was... just a little pain in my ovaries.. nothing major.

Today was the last day of Skie's spring vacation. (thank god!!) I happen to enjoy the 6 hours that she is at school! I get so much done. But also today she helped me a lot with the cleaning that was left from the weekend. I got everything caught up except the laundry needs to be folded.
Skie and I planted some flowers and vegetables today. Then put them outdoors. I hooked the hose up to the washer hookup, and stupid me put it in the hot water pipe... ya. duh!
Then around 4pm I made steak sandwiches for dinner. After we went to the park for about an hour or so. Skie made a new friend instantly. A girl named Hannah, 7 yrs old. They had so much fun playing. I met Hannah's mother and we chatted the entire time. Then 6pm rolled around and Hannah needed to be at girl scouts. I asked where it is being held. She says it's at the fire department. I just so happen to live accross the street from the Fire Department. So, then i asked how much is it to enroll. And to my surprise its only $12!! Now we are walking to the fire department and i tagged along so I could see about enrolling Skie. I would have done it right then and there, Skie had so much fun with all the other girls, and I took lots of pictures and even some video. But there is only 2 more meeting left for this season, and the new season dosent start till September. So, I will wait till next season to enroll her. I know she is going to love it. So, Hannah's mother and I chatted that entire time till about 7pm, we have a lot in common. Exchanged phone numbers and she only lives up the street and around the corner! I hope to chill with her.. she is a stay at home mother as well. So, maybe I will have a new friend. :)
Well, its almost 8:30pm and im dead tired!
Good night all!
-Misty

Monday Minute

Monday Minute


I thought this would be fun... you should join too! Click the button above! And remember to link up!

1 - Ever take a shit in the woods?
Yep, sure have. used to go camping a lot!

2 - If you won $1,000, what's the first thing you would do with it besides give me a cut?
I would pay next months rent, and pay the water bill! We are living on unemployment right now and that is only $232 a week!!!!

3 - What's your favorite phrase?
wow, i dont really have one. can't think of anything i say all that often.

4 - Fill in the blank - the world would be a better place if ______ left the planet.
All those who are selfish, ignorant, rude, And my mother in law!!

5 - How do you take your coffee or tea?
I take mine with two sugars and milk! Just like my dad, mom, brother, sister... its goes on.

Anyways, get on over and link up... this is so fun!!
-Misty

Sunday, April 18, 2010

Day 3 was easy.... no pain at all. And I didn't feel the need to sleep all day. So, nothing much to report on that.
My husband was home for the weekend like usual. I'm not happy with him. The whole weekend he didn't help me with anything! I was in a lot of pain on friday, saturday I was drained, and sunday... well, he didn't get off his ass to do anything other than his laundry and to feed his face. I'm so mad! The dishes piled up, the floors didnt get vacumed, and he didnt even clean his own messes! I attempted to do a sink full here and there and I would get all but the pots and pans done, and he didn't even bother to help me. Or ask if I needed help. I don't mind during the week when it is just Skie and me, but when he is home its like i have a second child to tend to! ugh!!!!
ANYWAYS!!
Im trying to decide what I want to cook this week! I know on Tuesday and Wednesday I'm making sugar cookies for Skie's class for Earth Day! Other than that im thinking I might make home made brownies, maybe a red velvet cake! hmmmm. decisions, decisions!
Oh, I planted a ton of veggies today. I got two bags of potting soil and I been scowering the house looking for containers to start them in. Because it may be a while before my husband gets my garden built I have decided to at least get some of the vegetables started so I don't lose any time during the growing season. So, today I planted Cabbage, Beans, Tomatoes, Watermelon, Lettuce, Turnips, ... hmmmm, hard to think of the rest now. but ya.... lots of yummy vegetables!
Well, Im going to call it an evening.
Hope everyone has a good nights rest!
-Misty

Saturday, April 17, 2010

yep, It's day two taking clomid 100mg. The only side effect I noticed today was hot flashes. Yesterday was bad! I was in a lot of pain radiating from my ovaries and lower back. Add hot flashes with that and you got a pretty awful day. Today I spend most the day sleeping. I'm just so darn tired. I woke up at almost 10am this morning, went back to sleep about 12pm, slept till almost 6pm. Now its almost 10pm and I'm so tired. The only thing I did all day was dishes! And off course entered a few giveaways and checked email. And I been stuffing my face. Eating EVERYTHING! It's like a craving I can't put my finger on. So, that's about all going on today.
Hope tomorrow is much better. I want to go buy some topsoil to start some vegetable plants!
Bye for now!
-Misty

Friday, April 16, 2010

PR Friendly....

PR Friendly!
I am more than happy to post product reviews and or giveaways. As a married mom of 1 daughter, and hopeing for one on the way very soon. I am able to give reviews on a variety of products geared towards children and adults. The ages in my household are 0-5 years old.

If you are a PR rep of a great product or someone who makes a awesome product and would like to get the word out I would love to hear from you.

This Mommy Has An Opinion is a great place for reviews because it is an inexpensive way to promote your business and get traffic to your site. Here are a few examples of a few of my past reviews:
Aden + Anais Review

Crooked Brook Review

Organica Cleaners Review

Scrubbing Bubbles Extend a clean Review


You can get in touch with me by email @ Mommy2skie@yahoo.com
Take care!
-Misty

I have polycistic ovaries... so conceiving is difficult. Husband and I have been trying for 5 years! I was diagnosed with polycistic ovaries when I was 23, by a OBGYN when we lived in Texas. I proceeded for fertility treatment, and i started by doing a clomid challenge to see if I would ovulate. I did. After that they wanted to do all these very painful procedures to check for this or that and i was freaked out and told them to shove it! So now 2 years later I ordered the clomid online. So today being the first day of my period I took one pill of a 100mg. Normally you would start by taking it on the second day for 5 days, but I usually have short periods so I'm taking it on day 1. I know there can be some painful side effects from the clomid as my ovaries are put into overdrive... but I'm willing to take it. Hubby will be home this afternoon and all weekend to tend to me if I need him. I am super excited! I want a little bundle of joy so bad! I love being a mother and I think i have done a fairly good job raising our daughter. Wish us luck!!
-Misty

Thursday, April 15, 2010

I was browsing around at blogs and came accross this from Mommy? I'm Hungry!

It's a yummy dark chocolate cake w/buttercream frosting!

I had to make it. Got right off my but and into the kitchen.

Here is the picture of my lil cake.

I halved the recipe Rachelle posted on both the cake and the frosting. I do regret halving the frosting because I would of liked much more inbetween teh two layers. But boy is it yummy. VERY Moist. And normaly when I frost a cake it is crumby, but this one wasnt, it all stuck together and the buttercream went on smoothly. Very nice.
Thank You Rachelle!
-Misty

As a mother of a 5 year old daughter I'm constantly looking for options for her to learn but not always be in front of the entertainment centers (watching TV or playing Video Games). Searching on the CSN website I found the Edushape Jumbo numbers! Skie is in Kindergarten and is learning a wide variety of things, including numbers, addition and subtraction. And to make this process a little easier I contacted the wonderful people at CSN to do a review of the Edushape Jumbo Numbers. Very soon I will receive these and proceed to teach my daughter and conclude with a review for my wonderful readers! Come back soon!
-Misty

Yup... I feel like my head is two sizes bigger! And I want to go back to bed!
Well, finally after days of saying I'm going to weed my flowers I got it done yesterday. And now today I am very sore! Physical work is literally a pain in my ass! lol. But I got it done, and pulled some tulip bulbs away to spread them out and make it prettier. Oh, I also started plants inside! Baby's breath, sunflowers, cornflowers, onions, and zinnias! They are growing nicely! Here are some pictures....
These are Baby's Breath

Onions


cornflowers


More Baby's Breath







I'm starting to wonder if anyone really reads my blog. Or maybe I need to comment more on other people's blogs so I will in return get more comments. Probably makes sense.
Well... Whats for dinner tonight? What are you making? Tonight I am cooking pork chops in cream of mushroom soup, with stuffing and probably corn. We eat a lot of corn. My daughter isn't a fan of green vegetables. But I do frequently force her to eat about a quarter cup of them when we do have them for meals. Well, I'm thinking its about lunch time... left over spaghetti today!
-Misty


Mail in your 2010 Census by tomorrow!!

o For every 1 percent increase in the national participation rate by mail, the Census Bureau saves taxpayers $85 million by not having to send census takers door to door to households that failed to return the census form. If every household mailed back its 2010 Census form, taxpayers could reduce the cost of taking the census and save $1.5 billion.

o It costs the government just 42 cents for a postage paid envelope when a household mails back the form but costs on average about $57 per household to send a census taker.

o April 16th is the last day to return your Census form!

o For every 1 percent increase in the national participation rate by mail, the Census Bureau saves taxpayers $85 million by not having to send census takers door to door to households that failed to return the census form. If every household mailed back its 2010 Census form, taxpayers could reduce the cost of taking the census and save $1.5 billion.

o It costs the government just 42 cents for a postage paid envelope when a household mails back the form but costs on average about $57 per household to send a census taker.

o April 16th is the last day to return your Census form!

Wednesday, April 14, 2010

Skie at the park!





Skie wearing her new Tiana dressup.




My Niece Emily and Daughter Skie.


Emily & Skie


Arn't They so darn cute!!


We had a picnic and she is chowin down on eggsalad sadwich.



My daughgter Skie running around at the park!

New Baby? Big Party? Made it 10 minutes without raiding the fridge? Whatever your reason to celebrate, PaperBox Press wants to help make it special! Angie at 5 Vinez Monkeys is giving away a $50 Gift Certificate to PaperBox Press - makers of beautiful custom photo cards. To find out more and enter to win this awesome prize, just stop by before 11:59pm ET on April 24th. Make your celebration one of a kind with PaperBox Press!

Miracle Blanket @ Natural Baby Goods

Review/Giveaway from Sugar and Spice

Tuesday, April 13, 2010

Mr. Bobbles Blankets Review/Giveaway

Giveaway - 18x24 Photo Enlargement Poster Print


Win It! Flings Bins has offered to give one lucky reader a Flings Bins tailgate/BBQ Party Pack - which consists of 2 BBQ/Picnic Bins and 2 Recycling Bins - that's a total of 4 Bins!


Win It! SKOY has generously offered to give 2 packs of SKOY cloths to one lucky winner!


Win It! U*neaks has generously offered one lucky reader a pair of U*neaks and 2 pairs of socks!


Win It! Clearly Cute has generously offered to give one lucky winner a Monogrammed Wine Glass!

Win It! Kathi's Kreations has generously offered one reader a Design Your Own Combo pack~ 1 Sandwich Bag and 1 Toddler Size Snack Bag!! You can see all of her fabric choices here!


Win It! Sprout Baby has generously offered to give one lucky reader their own 10 oz. EcoUsable Stainless Steel Bottle in their choice of boy or girl design!


Win It! Munchie Mug has generously offered to give a Munchie Mug to one lucky reader in their choice of color!


Win it! Corinna Couture has generously offered to give one very lucky winner the Double Ruffle Red Polka Dot Twirl Dress (adjustable to fit sizes 3T-5T)!!



Keeping The Faith is having a Skip Hop Giveaway!

525 America Review + Giveaway

Monopoly Deal Card Game Review & Giveaway (Ends 4/17)

Original Memory Game Review & Giveaway (Ends 4/21)

Connect 4 Review & Giveaway (Ends 4/25)

Samsung Q2 Video MP3 Player Giveaway (ends 4/30)

Scribblin Sisters Review and Giveaway


Picture This Creations Gift Shop’s First Giveaway!


Organically Grown - Baby /Toddler Clothing Giveaway on Miss Organic's Kitchen!

Monday, April 12, 2010

Yup, home all week with my 5yr old daughter! Its only Monday and im very ANNOYED!! She dosen't stop talking! Then when I was doing the dishe's she dumped her bowl with milk in it into my dish water! Before that she dumped sunny'D into my dish water! I was so made. I have a certain way I do things. And when she is gone to school 6 hours/5 days a week I get a lot done and specificly how I want it. That won't be the case this week.
Last night Skie spent the night at my neighbors house. She had a sleepover with her daughter Neriah. (she is 7) And she had fun. Came home about 8am. I had left the door unlocked so she could just come in when she wanted to. And I was still in bed. I slept in! And boy did I sleep well. Had some crazy dreams though. And Im getting tired of crawling back to the top of the bed about 3 times a night. I wake up and my legs are hanging off the bottom of the bed. I dont know how I do it, but I sure do move a lot in my sleep.
Not much is planned for today. Im getting the kitchen cleaned. And tidying the rest of the house. And i hope to actualy get outside to do some weeding. Hmmm.... I hope. Its very nice and sunny today. Just a little bit of wind.
Oh UPS stopped today and dropped of two books i had won. Countess of Scandal by Laurel McKee, and Dood by Dan Simmons. Im looking forward to reading both.
Well, bye for now. Im going to continue to neglet my house some more and enter more giveaways! lol.
-Misty

Mama Raves: The Mommy Hook @ Home Grown Families!!


LITTLE GREEN BOOKS Giveaway @ home Grown Families!




Tara's view on books is giving away Eat the Cookie... Buy the Shoes!



Audiovox portable DVD player giveaway at J. Leigh designz!!



Skitter Car Ride on toy Giveaway at J. Leigh Designz!!




Bounce house giveaway @ J. Leigh Designz!



WIN a Bounce House at Two Of A Kind, Working On A Full House during her Outdoor Oasis Event!


Digital Warm & Cool Mist Ultrasonic Humidifier Giveaway @ Two of a kind working on a full house.



Step 2 Giveaway @ Two of a kind, working on a full house.


Pink Paisly Monogramed towel Giveaway.


Tom & Jerry Tales!! 1st complete season!!

RCA Digital Camcorder From Audiovox

Awesome Little Tykes giveaway!!



Calico Critter game looks like fun, Im certain my daughter would love it!
International Playthings Calico Critter Game Review & Giveaway

$50 Gift Card to Fearless and Freckles! Boy would this be great, my daughter could use some new clothes!
Fearless and Freckles Review & $50 Gift Card Giveaway


A beautiful Casserole dish is being given away at sugar pop ribbons! I could really use a nice casserole dish. I currently just use a baking pan/ cake pan... i could use some new cake pans!
The Longaberger Company 2-Quart Covered Casserole Review


Sweet Label's Giveaway! These would really help me label my daughter's things for when she is sleeping over at a friends house, or her school stuff!
All Things Labels Review & Giveaway


I want this personalized bracelet!! Its beautiful, and I think i deserve some nice jewelry!
LifeVerse Jewelry Review & Giveaway

Well, who dosen't need a littl more orginization in there lives. Im hoping to win the rubbermaid drawer organizer. you can enter too!
Rubbermaid 6 piece set drawer organizers Review & Giveaway


I thought this was pretty cool. I always feel my teeth are never clean enough. Hope to win!!
Waterpik Sensonic Professional Toothbrush Review & 3 Giveaways

Sunday, April 11, 2010

(click the picture to take you to the linkup!)^^^^^^^^^


To play..copy the questions..answer them..post them..then come back here and get your link on.


The questions..


1. What color do you wear the most?
White! And, yess i get a lot of stains!
2. Would you rather have $10,000 dollars or a dream vacation?
$10,000 dollars, a vacation for me would only cost about $5,000 and then the other $5,000 I would be able to pay my bills off!
3. Do you have a weird, quirky or unusual habit?
Im not sure... I like to sit in compete silence for hours at a time. Maybe that's weird.
4. I really need to start..........?

Reading my Permit book so I can get it and then my licence!
5. What was the first blog you ever read? oh wow, I would never remember that. But im sure it had something to do with coupons!
6. Do you collect anything? I collect Tea sets. as well as Sake sets
7. How old were you when you had your first kiss? prob. about 4 or 5.... Im not sure.
8. Do you text/twitter while driving? I don't drive. but i shouldnt even text while i walk!


There it is, my answers!
-Misty

Way cool, I really like this stroller... and hope to win it!! you too, can enter here:
Britax Stroller Review & Giveaway


Check out this sweet baby monitor! Boy would this come in hand when (i hope) baby number two is on the way!
Summer Infant Sleek & Secure Multiview Handheld Color Video Monitor Set Review and Giveaway


These are beautiful jewelry boxes.
Saint Tropez Pink Safety Deposit Box Giveaway

Well, who wouldn't want to win this. I would love to get a hammock for out in my yard.
ATGStores.com $100 Gift Certificate Giveaway

very cool bags that are one bag that have a seperator to keep two seperate foods.
EcoZipGiveaway

Looks so yummy. I havn't had schwans food since I was a kid and my mom would order from them.
Mother’s Day Meal by Schwan’s Giveaway

I think my cats would love playing with this!
Zibits Mini Remote Controlled Robot Giveaway

My mom has one of these and I love it every time i visit... fresh coffee any time!
Give Mom a Cup of Coffee with a Senseo Giveaway


yay! I hope to win this thermous giveaway. My daughter needs a new lunchbag. You can enter to; Sugar Pop Ribons

Breezy Sunday!

Wow, allergies are terrible today. But other than that it's beautiful outside and breakfast was amazing! My brother, niece, and his friend Mike came over for breakfast. I did invite my father and his wife but they didnt show up. Didnt really think they would. Anyways, I made Waffles! Homemade! My husband made me an amazing omllet; he put ham, feta cheese, sharp cheddar and swiss in it... oh goodness I wish I could of fit more in my tummy. Breakfast was nice. I like it when my brother visits, and brings my niece since she keeps my daughter busy and out of my hair.
The rest of this day will be spent cleaning house (mostly the kitchen) and probably go outside and do some weeding. Nick (my husband) is going to go paintballing with my brother this afternoon. This will be his first time. I wonder how many welts he will come back with. LOL.
Bye for now!
-Misty

Saturday, April 10, 2010

Friday, April 9, 2010




Yep, I did it! Made fluffy, yummy,
fried goodness!
Take a peak and try not to drool!

-Misty

Thursday, April 8, 2010

Wednesday, April 7, 2010

4AM

A Migrane from HELL!! OMG it was horrible. Didn't think I could get out of bed. But I had to get my medicine. The only way to describe this pain is a sludge hammer ramming the top of my head, and ice picks being droven into my eye sockets! I took my medicine and passed out on the sofa waking up every 20 minutes until my alarm was going off to get Skie up for school. I could hardly manage to get to my bedroom. Turned my alarm off and went and got Skie up and in the shower. Knocking over a bunch of stuff, running into walls like a drunk person. I got her clothes out so she could dress. I layed on the sofa and instructed her what to do. I was not able to help her get ready. She got her own breakfast, dressed and prepared to go to school. I felt so bad for her. I just couldnt keep my head up, let alone stand up. But she did ok by herself. She got on the bus like always. She kept asking me if i was ok and if it was time for her to go wait for the bus. She just stands on the porch so I don't normally go down with her. At about 8:45 I told her ok, go on. She left and I passed out on the sofa again. My neighbor comes up for something, I don't remember what. And after she left I made my way to my bed where i slept till 11am. I woke up still feeling hungover, with just a touch of a headace left. I took some Tylenol. My husband called and I let him know how i was feeling. After going to my neighbors to get a soda because i needed caffine I proceded to get dressed to go get the mail. Nothing was in the po box. We have been waiting for my husbands unemployment debit card for 2 weeks now. So I let him know nothing was in the mail. He calls them again today and finds out a new card was never issued, although every time before the associate said it was in the mail. Well my husband bitched them out and a new card is being overnighted to my fathers house via fedex. This is just a crappy day. It's raining. And im not feeling very motivated to do anything. Im feeling extremly tired. but my headace is gone. I hope to get something accomplished today.
-Misty

Tuesday, April 6, 2010

Birdie Tuesday!

Happy Tuesday Pictures, Images and Photos


A wonderful yucky rainy day! Ok, so maybe wonderful shouldnt be in that sentence but Im feeling much better today! So even though the grey clouds and chilly air are outside my window Im going to have a better day today than i did yesterday!
Already this morning i have gotten the counters cleaned, dishes started, lunch packed and laundry washed! Gonna get my house clean today! That unfortunatly includes the litter box.. blah!
Oh, and i seen some birds outside my window this morning and snapped some photos! I started by using my little Nikon Coolpix S210, but its zoom just dosent compare to the Fuji S2Pro with a AF Nikkor 80-200mm Lens. Here is what i got!





Skie, is now off to school. My neighbors daughter came up at 8am so i could get her on the bus with Skie. Her mother had many appointments this morning and later today. Its raining out now but i plan to take a walk anyways. i have a beautiful umbrella so i dont see any reason not to.

Skie and Neriah waiting for the bus.



Well, I better get on with my day. Be back soon!!
-Misty

Monday, April 5, 2010

So, because i ran out of bread this morning Skie had her sandwich on a hamburger roll. instead of repeating this embarrasing lunch again i decided to make home made hoagie rolls. miniature size just for her lunches. Im sure she will love it! And its super easy. I love baking and cooking so it gave me something to do.
Im feeling better this afternoon. Just very tired. I got some of the dishes done. And that is about it. I hope to be feeling much better tomorrow.

Here is a pic of my rolls!!

Here are pictures of my daughter's Easter.


This is Skie pullin stuff out of her basket. And I like to use baskets/buckets that are reusable so that we dont have easter baskets sitting in the house for months and end up in trash. But with this bucket I found at Target on sale it will make much purpose when it comes to picking up toys left in the living room, or carrying items.

Hello Kitty Tin for makeup or other small items. I put a koosh and candy inside it.





This is a Cinderella baby doll. I found this on clearance at Target after christmas. Originally $28 and i paid just under $5!!



Here we have a doll she has been begging for! Thumbellina!! She was so happy!! Oh and you know what is so cool about this box? Its made of 100% recycled material! And it's in the recycle bin now to be re-recycled again!





Shreck magnetic book... has a million pieces and im sure some are under the sofa.



This is her checking out her new barbie book!


So, that concludes Easter. We didn't do much. We actualy spent most the day cleaning. Or well, my husband did. Im not feeling well so he has stepped up to help. Oh and on friday I sent Skie to school with Easter cookies for her class... here is a pic.


They could of been so much better. But by the time i got to actualy decorating them it was after 8pm and all i wanted to do was go to bed. The kids enjoyed them anyways!! Next cookie day is for Earth day on the 22nd!! yay! I love to make cookies for her class!
Alright thats all for now folks!
-Misty


Here it is! The long awaited Aden + Anais Review!
The wonderful people at Aden + Anais were so kind to send a package of four (47"x47") pre-washed, 100% cotton muslin swaddles. These are absolutly beautiful! All four have lovely colored stars. Yellow, Green, Orange, and Red. Many prints are available on there website. The first thing i noticed about these swaddles are how soft they are! They are very stretchy and breath very well.
With the lack of a baby available I used my daughters Cinderella baby doll. Seemed small enough, and about the size of a newborn. Following the directions on the back of the box, I folded the swaddle in half forming a triangle, placed baby doll in the center with head slightly above the fold. Then pulled the left side across the baby, the swaddle is very big so i tucked it a bit under the baby. Then folded the bottom up and pulled the right side over and wrapped it around baby. It was very snug. I think these are simply beautiful, creating a sence of stability and warmth. And these have multiple uses! I think when baby no longer does the swaddle thing you could use it as a blankie or sheet, or use it on the floor for tummy time. With the beautiful stars baby will be entertained with the bright colors.
I highly recomend these swaddles.


This is the front of the box. And I have to say that i love the design of the box. Very simple with lovely earthly tones.







The back of the box shows directions on how to wrap baby in the swaddle. As well as information on other uses.



Here are the swaddles folded so neatly right out of the box.



The swaddles layed out, look at the beautiful colors.



Here is the baby doll I used for this review.



Here is baby doll all wrapped up!

There is absolutly nothing I would change about these swaddles. They are soft, durable, and colorful!

This review is completly my opinion and experience with the swaddles. Nothing and nobody has swayed my opinions. No compensation was provided, only the box of 4 swaddles was provided for the purpose of this review. Please enjoy!

-Misty